Reading · Semantics · Writing

Doors of Writing

Brainstorming Activity

  1. The Heart Door
    • Write for 3 to 5 minutes about what you feel is true. Your inner images never lie. Trust them whether they be images of grief, sorrow, or rage. You can write to give those inner images space to breathe. What do you carry in your heart?
  2. The Observation Door
    • This is the door of your eyes. Write for 3 to 5 minutes about what you observe, what you’re amazed by, what’s beautiful in the world.
  3. The Concerns About the World Door
    • Write for 3 to 5 minutes about what you read about in the newspaper or watch on television–what are you concerned about? War, people who have to live on the streets, or floods around the globe? Write to tell the whole truth about the things you see around you.
  4. The Wonder Door
    • Write for 3 to 5 minutes about your questions about the world, your lives, what you’re studying in school, the universe–whatever is unresolved or inspires your curiosity. Be the most curious human alive.
  5. The Memory Door
    • Memories drift in and out of our minds all day long whether we are aware of them or not. Write for 3 to 5 minutes about your most vivid or profound memories.
  6. Infinite Doors
    • What do you want to write about that doesn’t fit into one of the above doors? Write for 3 to 5 minutes.

Rough Draft

The Heart Door

In my heart I know I feel a lot of Worry. On a daily basis there is at least one thing that I feel is weighing on my shoulders.  Throughout the past year I feel I’ve gotten better with dealing with this constant nag, yet still on an occasion, I feel the presence of anxiety.

The  Observation Door

My Observation door is sometimes cut off. Sometimes I overthink the things I’m seeing till the point where I don’t know what I’m seeing. My feelings and my observations are almost cut off from one another.

The Concerns of the World Door

I feel concerned for the corruption of the world. The people who claimed to be good and pure, but actually have bad intentions. This I hope one day is dissolved from the world.

The Wonder Door

The World and it’s purpose is where my wonder lies.  I wonder if there is a purpose why we are here, or if there is a god and I should be putting my faith in that.  There’s a chance there is no purpose. There is a chance there isn’t god.  There’s a chance everyone around me is a robot. There’s a chance we are not even here.

The Memory Door

I remember Christmas in Ohio the year of the blizzard.  I remember the trudge to the Big House with my year younger cousin and my grandma, walking past the huge hills of snow.  Matthew, my cousin, was wearing my boots, which were quite obviously for girls, and my grandma was walking around taking pictures.  I remember sleeping in the Living Room and posing with Matthew.

The Infinite Door

Ernest Hemingway once wrote “Try to learn to breathe deeply, really to taste food when you eat, and when you sleep, really to sleep. Try as much as possible to be wholly alive with all your might, and when you laugh, laugh like hell. And when you get angry, get good and angry. Try to be alive. You will be dead soon enough.”  While it may seem dark and depressing, I feel this is a good perspective on the world. To live life in the moment is a good way to live.

Leave a Reply

